OMGoodness Sea Salt Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m going to go strongly suggest you make these cookies this weekend. And let me know how many you have left by Monday morning. These cookies are a twist on chocolate chip cookies with a yummy balance of salty and sweet… and they won’t last long.

sea salt butterscotch chocolate chip cookies 3

I threw these together before we had my father in law and brother in law (my mother in law is out of town) over for dinner last night to break in our new dining table. We bbq’d some amazing burgers and finished the night with a couple cookies. But of course, I forgot to send any home with my in law’s, and 3 dozen cookies is a lot of temptation in my kitchen, so I sent them to work with my husband this morning.

They were kind of a hit.

My husband forwarded me a couple of emails from his coworkers this morning – about 10 minutes after he got to work – titled “OMGoodness”.

They loved the mix of salty and sweet! These were even a hit with his coworkers who prefer savory treats!

Safe to say these cookies didn’t last long in the break room.

They’re pretty damn good, and pretty damn easy, so I hope you make them this weekend and enjoy them as much as we did!

sea salt butterscotch chocolate chip cookies 2

OMGoodness Sea Salt Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes: 3 dozen

2 1/4 C AP flour
1 t baking soda
1 t sea salt
1 t pure vanilla extract
1.5 sticks unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs
3/4 C sugar
3/4 C brown sugar, packed
1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 C butterscotch chips
Additional sea salt, approx. 3 t

1. Mix flour, baking soda and 1t sea salt together in a bowl and set aside.

2. Beat together softened butter, sugars and vanilla until creamy.

3. Add eggs in one at a time. Beat well after each egg.

4. Slowly mix in flour mixture. Then stir in the chips by hand. Chill 30 minutes.

5. Preheat oven to 375. Form or roll dough into balls the size of golf balls and place on un-greased cookie sheet.

6. Now for the good stuff… The sea salt can either be sprinkled on the cookies now, before baking, or, right after they come out of the oven. (I like to sprinkle half before, and half after!)

7. Bake for 9 – 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Add sea salt if none was added before. Then let rest for just a minute or two, before moving cookies to paper towels to finish cooling.

sea salt butterscotch chocolate chip cookies 1

P.S. I hear these go really, really well with some vanilla ice cream! Not that I would know, or anything.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes, things i love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you, please leave a comment:

